On August 14, 2018, Gov. Bruce Rauner signed a new law that changed texting-while-driving citations to moving violations, even if the driver is a first-time offender. This change will go into effect on July 1, 2019. Currently, first-time offenders would only receive a non-moving violation.
It is against the law in Illinois to text while behind the wheel. All drivers cannot use a cellphone while driving, but individuals at least 19 years of age can use a hands-free device.
States such as Illinois ban texting while driving, but of course, that does not stop some drivers. Nor do the statistics that show how deadly texting while driving can be. So, it can be especially frustrating when you are injured in a car wreck by someone who was on his or her cellphone.
Mark W. Mathys recently secured $1.131 million for a client who sustained a herniated disc injury in a rear-end car crash. The settlement is the largest in DuPage County's history for a spine injury not resulting in paralysis.
Distracted drivers of all ages cause more fatal car accidents than anyone else. Whenever drivers look away from the road, they multiply their chances of having an accident. For teenage drivers, one of the biggest distractions is texting while driving, and the consequences can be fast and final.