As of January 1, 2015, the new mandatory minimum limits of vehicle liability insurance is increased to a $25,000 bodily injury liability limit per person; a $50,000 bodily injury liability limit per accident; and a $20,000 property damage limit. The old requirements were $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident. If you still only have $20,000 in coverage, you need to increase it to $25,000 to drive legally.
If you were injured in a car accident and are looking for an attorney, you've probably wondered how much your case is worth. In just about every free consultation I give, I'm asked about the "case value" and how I determine an acceptable settlement range. Here's the truth: there is no magic formula because each case is unique.
We often think of workplace accidents with regards to machinery incidents, transportation crashes or even construction-related falls. The fatal accidents that involve biological causes are often overlooked, however. Workers may be injured or killed when they encounter wildlife on the job. That is exactly what happened to one Illinois man who drowned after he was attacked by a swan at a pond he was tending. That incident occurred two years ago; now, the man's wife is seeking financial damages in connection with his wrongful death.
Running or driving away from the scene of an accident doesn't avoid problems. It creates more for the defendant, police investigators and auto accident victims. Fleeing an accident scene is against the law. So why do Illinois drivers do it?