Young woman sitting at a wood table working with a laptop

Fighting To Get You Exceptional Results

  1. Home
  2.  | 
  3. Truck Accidents
  4.  | Truck drivers cannot text in Illinois

Truck drivers cannot text in Illinois

On Behalf of | Sep 29, 2014 | Truck Accidents

The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, also known as FMCSA, puts out rules and regulations that drivers need to follow if they do not want to face fines and fees. Some of the newest rules on the books relate to texting, which has been traced to unsafe driving in many cases.

For the sake of the new rules, texting is about more than the traditional method of sending a message from one phone to another. If a driver is using a mobile device to write out an email while driving, for example, that could also count.

If drivers are caught doing this, those drivers may end up being disqualified by the FMCSA. The drivers could also face a fine with a maximum set at $2,750. The administration does acknowledge that employers sometimes have a hand in this as well. If it turns out that an employer was allowing the driver to text while behind the wheel or even requiring them to do it for work, that employer could face fines that reach up to $11,000.

The basic reason for this new rule is simply that the FMCSA wants to make sure that drivers are always looking at the road, and those who text are forced to take their eyes off of it — however briefly.

If a driver is texting and he or she is involved in an accident that injures or even kills another driver, the police could find him or her to be at fault in that wreck. When this happens in truck accidents in Illinois, the victims and their families must know what rights they have to compensation.

Source: FMCSA, “No Texting Rule Fact Sheet” Sep. 29, 2014