Workers’ compensation laws in Illinois are designed to provide certain compensation to an injured worker without having to show that the employer is at fault for an injury.
Illinois worker’s compensation law requires the employer to pay for the injured worker’s medical bills, pay the worker for the time missed from work due to the injury, and pay the worker for any permanent injury or disability to the worker’s injured body part.
Illinois law requires a person who was injured at work to notify the employer within 45 days of injury in order to qualify for workers’ compensation benefits. Notice should be given to the employer the same day as the injury or as soon as possible. While notice can be given verbally, notice should be given in writing specifying the date you were injured. The paperwork that actually starts the claim must be filed with the Illinois Workers’ Compensation Commission within 3 years of the date of the injury or the claim will be barred forever.
If your injury is permanent, you may be entitled to a settlement paid to you by the employer’s insurance carrier. Even though you may have a strong relationship with your employer, it is ultimately the employer’s insurance company who will be paying your benefits. It would be illegal for your employer to fire you or discriminate against you for starting a worker’s compensation claim. Therefore, you should consult with an experienced worker’s compensation attorney immediately to evaluate your case and either obtain a fair settlement or go to trial.
The attorneys at Law Offices of Mathys & Schneid are committed to representing people who have been injured at work. Law Offices of Mathys & Schneid handles workers’ compensation cases in Cook, DuPage, Kane, Will and Kendall Counties and all throughout the Chicagoland area.